The Lost Legacy (The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #1) by Gwenda Bond & Christpher Rowe

Sooo … long time no blog.  Thanks to Jeff for keeping the place alive in my absence.  I may have finally found my motivation for blogging so here’s hoping May is the start of something.

Friend of the blog (Can I say that? I guess I just did) Gwenda Bond posted on Facebook that the first book in the Supernormal Sleuthing Service Series, The Lost Legacy, is now out in paperback.  Book two, The Sphinx’s Secret, is expected later this month.  This series is co-written by Gwenda and her husband Christopher Rowe.  I figured this would be a good time to offer a review since I failed to do so when I read it last year.

I found The Lost Legacy to be a clever and imaginative start to what should be a fun series. A unique twist on a common plot hook, magical creatures secretly hiding out in the modern world, and a menagerie of interesting characters and personalities. Backstory and mysteries are slowly revealed as the tension picks up. The ending reveals but also sets up future adventures.

Library Journal captures what makes this first book enjoyable:

Character development is quite satisfying, as the children start out whiny and distrustful but become brave and resourceful. The authors artfully meld the supernatural with the modern. In one scene, the children use their cell phone ringers to scare a ghoul. Black-and-white, cartoon-style line drawings by Thomas establish just the right mood for the quirky setting and characterization.

If  you are looking for non-stop movie like action, this is not that kind of book.  Some of the reviews seemed frustrated with the lack of action but I enjoyed the characters and the setting so didn’t mind the pace or t is a fun, lighthearted read and who doesn’t need that these days?  Can’t wait to read the next book.

 

The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #1: The Lost Legacy Book Cover The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #1: The Lost Legacy
Gwenda Bond, Chistopher Rowe,
Juvenile Fiction
Greenwillow Books
May 1, 2018
432

Three kids. A hotel full of monsters. And a stolen magical artifact that could disrupt the balance between the humans and the supernatural. Welcome to life at Hotel Monster! Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library meets Hotel Transylvania in the first book of this hilarious and spooky new series that blends mystery with monsters.

Stephen’s dad has moved their two-person family across the country to New York City, where he is taking over as head chef in an exclusive hotel. A hotel that has the most elite of clientele: monsters (though they prefer to be called supernormals). Surprise! And an even bigger surprise? Stephen is part supernormal himself. When a magical family heirloom is stolen and Stephen is framed, he must work with two new friends to navigate this whole new world and clear his name. After all, consequences can be dire in the world of monsters.

Spooky, funny, and full of monstrous hijinks, The Lost Legacy is an inventive and accessible mystery-adventure full of friendship and humor—perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and R. L. Stine’s Goosebumps series.

About the author

Kevin Holtsberry

I work in communications and public affairs. I try to squeeze in as much reading as I can while still spending time with my wife and two kids (and cheering on the Pittsburgh Steelers and Michigan Wolverines during football season - oh, and watching golf too).

View all posts

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.