The Sphinx’s Secret by Gwenda Bond & Christopher Rowe

Continuing our summer trend of reading books by “friends of the blog” (i.e. authors I have been reading for some time and who I have interacted with as a result of this website), we turn to Gwenda Bond & Christopher Rowe’s middle grade series The Supernormal Sleuthing Service.

I enjoyed The Lost Legacy enough to look forward to reading book #2 and The Sphinx’s Secret did not disappoint.  The focus remains on Stephan and his friends, and how they work together to face the challenge, but this book had a little more tension and action than the first.  Both the introduction of the mysterious wizard and Sphinx kind added another element to the already fun cast of characters.  There was a real sense that something was at risk; which is not something you always get with books in this category.

This is a fun, creative middle grade series with a focus on friendship and solving mysteries.

 

The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #2: The Sphinx's Secret Book Cover The Supernormal Sleuthing Service #2: The Sphinx's Secret
Gwenda Bond, Chistopher Rowe,
Juvenile Fiction
Greenwillow Books
May 29, 2018
352

t’s only been a few weeks since Stephen started living at the New Harmonia—a hotel that caters to a supernormal clientele, including bigfeet, vampires, dragons, and talking gargoyles—and he still has a lot to learn.

His latest discovery? The lions in front of the New York Public Library are actually sphinxes, guarding a secret treasure trove of magical objects.

When a mysterious wizard steals a powerful wand from the collection and casts a spell on the entire supernormal world, Stephen and his friends must find a way to reverse the magic before it becomes permanent.

This inventive and accessible mystery-adventure is full of friendship, humor, and a curious cast of characters perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and R.L. Stine’s Goosebumps series.

About the author

Kevin Holtsberry

I work in communications and public affairs. I try to squeeze in as much reading as I can while still spending time with my wife and two kids (and cheering on the Pittsburgh Steelers and Michigan Wolverines during football season - oh, and watching golf too).

View all posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.