The Wild Inside by Jamey Bradbury

Jamey Bradbury’s debut novel, The Wild Inside, is a coming-of-age story that highlights the many issues young adults have as they try to find their way in the world.

Bradbury showcases many things that I know little or nothing about – teenage girls, Alaskan outback, dog racing and the Iditarod. But, despite my ignorance on these subjects, Bradbury makes the story engaging and thrilling. She sucks the reader in with the heroine’s (Tracy) actions.  She captures the confusion that I am sure many teenagers feel about their lives and those around them.

Bradbury skillfully weaves Tracy’s teenage angst amidst a psychological thriller – who attacked Tracy and what he wants. The psychological thriller element adds a dark and brooding undertone throughout the book – even in the more lighthearted moments.

Bradbury does well developing the characters. Tracy and Jesse are two complex characters that have many sides to their personalities. The pain and loss that Tracy and her dad and brother suffer when their mom and wife dies unexpectedly is real and feels true. They do not know how to deal with her loss and what their new roles are in the family.

The novel includes several turns in the plot, especially one big one at the end.

 

The Wild Inside Book Cover The Wild Inside
Jamey Bradbury
Fiction
William Morrow
March 20, 2018
304

"The Wild Inside is an unusual love story and a creepy horror novel — think of the Brontë sisters and Stephen King." —John Irving A promising talent makes her electrifying debut with this unforgettable novel, set in the Alaskan wilderness, that is a fusion of psychological thriller and coming-of-age tale in the vein of Jennifer McMahon, Chris Bohjalian, and Mary Kubica. A natural born trapper and hunter raised in the Alaskan wilderness, Tracy Petrikoff spends her days tracking animals and running with her dogs in the remote forests surrounding her family’s home. Though she feels safe in this untamed land, Tracy still follows her late mother’s rules: Never Lose Sight of the House. Never Come Home with Dirty Hands. And, above all else, Never Make a Person Bleed. But these precautions aren’t enough to protect Tracy when a stranger attacks her in the woods and knocks her unconscious. The next day, she glimpses an eerily familiar man emerge from the tree line, gravely injured from a vicious knife wound—a wound from a hunting knife similar to the one she carries in her pocket. Was this the man who attacked her and did she almost kill him? With her memories of the events jumbled, Tracy can’t be sure. Helping her father cope with her mother’s death and prepare for the approaching Iditarod, she doesn’t have time to think about what she may have done. Then a mysterious wanderer appears, looking for a job. Tracy senses that Jesse Goodwin is hiding something, but she can’t warn her father without explaining about the attack—or why she’s kept it to herself. It soon becomes clear that something dangerous is going on . . . the way Jesse has wormed his way into the family . . . the threatening face of the stranger in a crowd . . . the boot-prints she finds at the forest’s edge. Her family is in trouble. Will uncovering the truth protect them—or is the threat closer than Tracy suspects?

About the author

Jeff Grim

Jeff Grim has been a reader all of his life. He has had a particular interest in military history, any war at any time. His fascination with military history has brought him to an interest in historical fiction where the history comes alive with fictitious heroes and villains. Recently, Jeff has become interested in historical mysteries set in various time periods.

View all posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.